Our swimming lessons follow the STA International Learn to Swim Programme. This series is designed for those who start to learn to swim at primary school. Swimmers progress through four levels - Octopus, Goldfish, Angelfish and Shark and within each of these levels there are three awards.

Certificates and badges are available to purchase on successful completion of each stage.

Octopus 1, 2 & 3

The Octopus series is an exciting series of 3 progressive awards specifically designed for children aged between 5 to 8 years old. On completion of the Octopus series, learners can progress through the Learn to Swim journey and move on to the Goldfish series.

Goldfish 1,2 & 3

This programme is designed to be the next stage for swimmers who have progressed through the Octopus Series. On completion of this series swimmers will be able to swim without any aid as well as perform basic floats. Swimmers will then move on to the Angelfish series.

Angelfish 1, 2 & 3

Once swimmers have completed the Goldfish Series they can progress to the Angelfish Series. On completion of the 3 progressive awards in this series, swimmers with be capable of swimming a longer distance without aid, perform butterfly stroke as well as mastering sculling techniques and entries to the water.

Shark 1, 2 & 3

For those children who have completed their Angelfish Award Level 3 the next series is the Shark series. This series aims to develop finer stroke technique alongside personal survival and water safety skills. Working towards longer distance awards whilst introducing basic rescue skills to create a full competent swimmer.

Progression of skills within each award

Click on the link below to view a detailed PDF of the progression of the swimmer’s skills through each award.

Progression of Skills PDF